DEEP TIME

The mission ended on Saturday April 24, 2021.

An exceptional mission

Outside of time and classic life landmarks to better understand patterns

adaptation of our brain, in the midst of anomy situation and in a group.

For 40 days, 15 people at the heart of an unprecedented expedition

During an exceptional period, an extraordinary expedition, in France: 40 days underground to learn the links between our brains and time, as well as with the capacity of functional synchronization within a group. This is a fundamental need for our future.

Our mission
DEEP TIME 

On April 24, at 10:30 am, ended one of the most incredible human scientific expeditions of recent years: DEEP TIME “an exceptional scientific experiment never before carried out in a group”, says Christian Clot. 15 team members who came to live 40 days in the Lombrives cave in Ariège, without access to sunlight or any time indicator, left the cave this morning at 10:30 am after 40 days underground. “The announcement of the exit was for the team members, most of whom were only at the 30th cycle, or 30 days for them. Their last day underground was devoted to tidying up the camp and to the numerous scientific protocols at the end of the mission. It also allowed the team to begin to prepare, psychologically, to find the surface. Barely out, after several protocols carried out in the afternoon, the team members flew to the ICM in Paris to take the MRI exams which will allow comparison with those carried out in the pre-mission.

The goals of this mission: to understand the adaptation of cerebral plasticity linked to time, the impacts of desynchronization in the face of a new life situation and the ability of a human group to find functional synchronization, when immersed in a totally universe. new and in the absence of one of its major landmarks: time. “To date, there is no study that allows us to know what is really going on in our brains in real life when they are living it. There were few opportunities to conduct scientific experiments, under conditions as specific as these, ”Christian Clot reminds us. “This requires very specific experimental protocols, outside the laboratories, with innovative but well-tested methodologies” according to Stéphane Besnard, one of the scientific directors of the project. It is a success in several respects. On the one hand, during the 40 days, more than 50 scientific protocols were carried out, from genetics to olfactory perceptions. On the other hand, despite difficult environmental conditions (10 ° C and 100% constant humidity, without natural light or time indicators), the design of the mission made the life of the group possible and to show the evolution of '' a collective synchronicities allowing the realization of the various works of the mission. The energy and will of Christian Clot and his teammates did the rest. This is how they arrived together at the end of the mission with a certain pleasure and the collective desire to continue it.

It is therefore for each citizen that DEEP TIME has been designed. In a global and applied manner, this work is directly connected with several current social and health situations, but they are also forces of anticipation of the near future.

Some avenues related to the usefulness of DEEP TIME

- Lunar bases (possible from 2024), then on other extra-terrestrial territories with the installation of autonomous and potentially isolated human groups.

- Anticipation of missions during long space trips.

The conquest of space takes a new turn during this century, enabled by new technologies and rising figures. From the Moon to Mars, by targeting other stellar objects, such as Ceres, humans will face new perceptions of time.

Space domain

- Life in a confined environment at the heart of long missions: submarines, immersive missions.

- Lessons learned from action in a situation of total loss of reference points (disorientation pushed to the extreme, confinement).

Since the mid-2000s, the global geopolitical and geostrategic balance has undergone many changes. The non-uniform multipolar world suggests new geostrategic, even military (RMA) adaptations, which can be consulted in the White Papers.

Defense

- The search for better working conditions for miners, tunnel boring machines, and people working on their tasks for long hours underground.

- Posted workers: platforms off-shore and other isolated activities.

- Reorganization of teams, leadership complex projects, time management, etc. Thinking about time in exceptional situations cannot exclude, ultimately, common situations in companies. On the contrary, the wealth drawn from our expeditions is exploitable and exportable, since we can implement values ​​within any organization.  

Companies

- Confinement of the population: teaching on action in a situation of loss of bearings in the face of crises of all kinds.

- New habitats (all-terrain, submarines) in the event of severe climatic disturbances.

- Displacement of populations in an unfamiliar living environment.

- Mental Health.

Civil society

A project like DEEP TIME is a challenge in itself, possible and symptomatic. It acts as a fabulous demonstrator of the excellence that humans know how to implement to surpass themselves and push back knowledge, in a troubled period.

With DEEP TIME, we highlight a notorious educational basis for talking about projects for the future, parity, as well as scientific knowledge and other aspects.

To venture even further...

Understand the project

A first world

t

Why a cave?

In a natural environment, we keep the fine perception of a real life translated via the emotions provoked by the environment, our sensoriality and our aptitude for wonder!

After years of varied studies, we have found that, in order to fully understand human skills and functioning, it is necessary to study them in a natural environment and in real life situations rather than in simulation in a small and closed space.

These contextualizations, in concreto, allow more precise observations, taking into account the sensory and emotional set that influences our decisions and actions at every moment of our lives. We therefore chose a large-scale cave in order to set up a quality camp for studies while having a sufficiently large space for evolution, discovery (s), exploration. The chosen setting is not trivial since it brings natural sensations that are essential when studying humans when they are placed in new living conditions, fundamentally confusing for the mind and body.

We thus opt for a framework conducive to reconnection with living conditions close to our "exploratory" habits, while avoiding solar contact, strictly speaking, or a look at watches.

The base camp, a true demonstrator of the means of installing a place of life in improbable places, allows our protocols to be carried out by considering many key scientific parameters. Likewise, we benefit from the most advanced tools to carry out this project, as well as all the rigor necessary to collect data that will advance research, particularly in the axis of a better understanding of a potentially future more and more linked to the confinements of society.

Understanding Time ...

… Is as old as humanity. But it was in the 1938th century that chronobiology was created: from 2000 to XNUMX, several missions were carried out in caves or with simulators, alone or in pairs to study time on a human scale, from Nathaniel Kleitman to Véronique Le Guen.

In 1962, the Frenchman Michel Siffre made, in two months in a cave, the greatest discovery regarding our biological rhythms.

However, to date, never has a group conducted such an experiment with studies on the brain and genetics. This is a world first in its methodology and principle.

Time becomes an adventure.

The main axes of the mission

Universal questions to be resolved

 

 

On the surface, around thirty scientists from 12 fields will try to answer three questions essential for our future, using the most modern technologies:

- How to manage disorientation, when we are subjected to a totally new situation… like the confinements of 2020?

- How our brain conceives and manages the time apart from any indicator?

- How can a human group manage to synchronize, to function together when it finds itself in totally new living conditions?

After years of varied studies, we have found that, in order to fully understand the complexity of human skills and functioning, it is necessary to study them in a natural environment rather than in simulation, in a small and closed space.

The objective here is to prove that in a situation of full anomie and doubt, it is possible to act, to create projects and above all to innovate to help humans cope better with their future, while being placed in a difficult environment.

9

A major challenge for the human body and mind

In the Lombrives cave, in France, 7 women and 7 men go underground to live in total isolation, for 40 days, without any means of knowing the time (neither sun nor watch). A mission beyond time!

9

A dynamic of hope

In these troubled times, especially because of the current health crisis, having hope, building projects for the future and maintaining motivation are tedious. An expedition mission like Deep time becomes, then, bearer of meaning, of commitments and offer a new capacity for global projection.

Deep time constitutes a motor demonstration for the general public who need dreams. We are showing that it is always possible to build large projects right next to where we live, and thus believe in the future.

There is a notorious parallel between individuals around the world who have had to confine themselves to their “cave”, physical and mental, and explorers who immerse themselves in this temporal reality, closer to nature and rocks.

9

The return of exploratory field missions

2021 is the year of the great return of the missions with Deep time, a project designed and led by:

- Lteams of Human Adaptation Institute

- The explorer-researcher Christian Clot 

9

A public utility mission

Space projects, new living conditions due to climates or biodiversity, new work constraints ... these are all subjects for which the mission Deep time could provide some answers. It is also a project that speaks to citizens of the world who are numerous to have felt a disorientation during the year 2020.

Situations of temporal anomie risk becoming more and more frequent, due to crises, voluntary missions or reorganization of our habitats on Earth, especially in areas of high climatic pressure.

It is therefore important to better understand how the brain understands and manages time, and how groups, however heterogeneous they may be, manage to recreate synchronization outside the usual indicators.

 

Our brain in the spotlight

Understand the difference between the perception of Time and its reality

During certain events, our perception of time is altered : it seems to pass very slowly or very quickly, unrelated to the reality of each passing second. What happens then? How to find the sense of time? What are the connections between cognitive and biological time, between the brain and genetic cells?

What is the relationship between perceived time and normative time, that of our watches?

“How does our brain see time? “

Losing time is the greatest disorientation there is. And it is this aspect that the mission Deep time wants to understand better. Because to this day we do not know how our cognitive system understands and manages this indefinite continuity, this environment where the succession of events and phenomena takes place, even beyond this variable that we could call the biological clock in chronobiology.

A contemporary reality is brought to light : our human capacity for adaptation depends, in part, on our ability to manage the disorientation arising from new living conditions and by understanding time.

The fundamental question is: “how to achieve a match between real time and perceived time”? 

 

Days spent in the cave

Team members underground

Scientists for DEEP TIME Study

Scientific fields

Practical and human aspects

Who we are? 

Team responsible for the assignment DEEP TIME

Christian CLOT 

  • Founding President of the Human Adaptation Institute
  • Member of the Society of French Explorers
  • Speaker and author
  • Member of the DEEP TIME mission 

Jeremy ROUMIAN

  • Director of Operations & Partnerships at Human Adaptation Institute
  • Member of the DEEP TIME mission 

Melusine MALLENDER 

  • Member of the Society of French Explorers
  • Director in charge of “Image & Parity” projects
  • Member of the DEEP TIME mission 

Dr. Stéphane BESNARD 

  • University Lecturer 
  •  Hospital practitioner
    electroencephalogram evoked potentials
  • Member of the DEEP TIME mission 

To discover our team members in the field and all of our research, logistics and communication teams

Different perspectives on the project 

“There is a notorious parallel between individuals around the world who have had to confine themselves to their 'cave', physical and mental, and explorers who immerse themselves in this temporal reality, closer to nature and rocks. Beyond the aspects very in phase with our conjuncture, time - a timeless question - is in the spotlight at the heart of this mission: it is an extremely delicate element to deal with as our relationships with it are subject to the intersubjectivity and the lack of knowledge that we have of it, notwithstanding the work well started by references like Albert Einstein or Stephen Hawking. Working on the coupled time of cerebral activities is also to question our nature as mortals in a framework that transcends human understanding. Will we one day be able to define ontologically speaking, the equation of temporal substance? Is it linear, cyclical or subject to other unsolved geometries? Inexorably, it is a multifaceted object subject toexploration, discussion, negotiation, interpretation, just as this represents a point of reference, sometimes suspended, but continuously in movement, caught in a completely paradoxical field and made up, concomitantly, of abstract items and concrete. "

Idriss NAOUI, in charge of communication and artistic direction

“Deep Time represents an interior adventure in both senses of the word, physical and psychic, and it is the possibility of going to meet oneself and others, to look at one's internal functioning,
the incredible chance to disconnect from the world, to
its effervescence and its technology and to create the link with all of its senses. ”

Damien JEMELGO, Team member of the mission.

“Deep Time is a great experience, a way to get to know our brain better. I like this way of being jostled in our quiet and secure daily life to push our own limits and explore our personal capacities, our cognitive functioning and our group interactions. It is an exciting work that we undertake with researchers specialized in different disciplines, an exploration inside the human being. ”

Marie-Caroline LAGACHE, Team member of the mission.

Do not hesitate to contact us so that we can post your thoughts on the DEEP TIME mission. We are convinced that your unique perspective can bring new perspectives to the project. 

You.

Discover

 scientific work

Confronting the field with others or alone, in missions that allow you to surpass yourself.

Collect, understand and analyze valuable data for science, with the ultimate in tools, following strict protocols and under the watchful eye of multidomain experts.

Issue recommendations and prospective studies, while seeking innovation in various forms.

The importance of real life situations

Protocols in situ, in the field during the 40 days. It is essential that measurements and samples are taken in real conditions in order to better understand human adaptation mechanisms. 

A wide and precious collaboration

Our research is integrative, multidisciplinary, from cognition to genetics, from psychology to ethology and ensure a broad vision of human adaptation. Emotions, perceptions, as well as acceptance and decision mechanisms can also be assessed very finely through immediate observation rather than through memory-based narratives.

U

The quality of the analysis and interpretation according to rigorous scientific schemes

Laboratory protocols (MRI, etc.) before and after the operation, for 2 years. Following exploratory missions, the Human Adaptation Institute carefully collects data collected in the field for study. These avenues for reading are then used to develop science, while retaining this aspect of recommendation to institutions, among others.

Innovative tools

 Capsule ingested to monitor core temperature and microbiota, monitoring cardiac intervals, high density EEG ... We are developing innovative tools to obtain our data, taken daily during the mission and we are able to observe the physiological modification of the brain at the time of the situations real life.

UNDERSTAND

how the brain can adapt in a cave, without time mark or daylight. Understand the cognitive biases that allow adaptation in a context of anomy breaking the cyclical aspect of the circadian rhythm.

 

ANALYZE

data collected in the field, and interpret them with the collaboration of renowned laboratories and researchers to suggest avenues for reading on our nature as human beings. Science keeps advancing. 

RECOMMEND

with all stakeholders in society, adaptive schemes, reviews and strategic action plans aimed at anticipating increasingly recurring issues such as confinement. The Institute of Human Adaptation also aims to make the general public discover the “pillar” themes of its fields of investigation as well as the research community.

3 + 7 =

Address of the cave for the mission

Lombrives cave

09400 Ussat

Email

info@theadaptationgroup.com

Follow us on social networks
DutchEnglishFrenchGermanItalianPortugueseSpanish
Twitter
Visit Us
Follow Me
YouTube
LinkedIn
Share
Instagram
error: Content is protected !!

DEEP TIME

La mission a pris fin de samedi 24 avril 2021.

Une mission exceptionnelle

En dehors du temps et des répères de vie classiques pour mieux comprendre les schémas

d’adaptation de notre cerveau, en pleine situation d’anomie et en groupe.

Pendant 40 jours, 15 personnes au cœur d'une expédition inédite

Durant une période exceptionnelle, une expédition hors du commun, en France : 40 jours sous terre pour apprendre les liens entre nos cerveaux et le temps, ainsi qu'avec la capacité de synchronisation fonctionnelle au sein d’un groupe. Il s'agit d'un besoin fondamental pour notre avenir.

La mission
DEEP TIME 

Le 24 avril, à 10h30, s’est terminée l’une des plus incroyables expéditions scientifiques humaines de ces dernières années : DEEP TIME « une expérience scientifique exceptionnelle encore jamais réalisée en groupe » nous dit Christian Clot. 15 équipiers venus vivre 40 jours dans la grotte de Lombrives en Ariège, sans accès à la lumière du soleil ni aucun indicateur temporel sont sortis ce matin de la grotte à 10h30 après 40 jours sous terre. « L’annonce de la sortie a été pour les équipiers dont la plupart n’était qu’au 30ème cycle, soit 30 jours pour eux. » Leur dernier jour sous terre a été consacré au rangement du camp et aux nombreux protocoles scientifiques de fin de mission. Cela a aussi permis à l’équipe de commencer à se préparer, psychologiquement, à retrouver la surface. À peine sortis, après plusieurs protocoles menés dès l’après-midi, les équipiers se sont envolés pour l’ICM à Paris afin de passer les examens IRM qui permettront le comparatif avec ceux réalisés en pré-mission.

Les buts de cette mission : comprendre l’adaptation de la plasticité cérébrale lié au temps, les impacts de la désynchronisation face à une situation nouvelle de vie et la capacité d’un groupe humain à retrouver une synchronisation fonctionnelle, lorsque plongé dans un univers totalement nouveau et en l’absence de l’un de ses repères majeurs : le temps. « À ce jour, il n’y aucune étude qui permet de savoir ce qui se passe réellement dans nos cerveaux en situation réelle au moment où il le vit. Il y a eu peu d’occasions de mener des expériences scientifiques, dans des conditions aussi particulières que celles-ci », nous rappelle Christian Clot. « Cela nécessite des protocoles expérimentaux bien particuliers, hors des laboratoires, avec des méthodologies novatrices mais bien éprouvées » selon Stéphane Besnard, l’un des directeurs scientifiques du projet. C’est un succès à plusieurs égards. D’une part, pendant les 40 jours, plus de 50 protocoles scientifiques ont été réalisés, de la génétique aux perceptions olfactives. D’autre part, malgré des conditions environnementales difficiles (10°C et 100% d’humidité constante, sans lumière naturelle ni indicateurs de temps), la conception de la mission a rendu la vie du groupe possible et à montrer l’évolution d’un synchronicités collectives permettant la réalisation des différents travaux de la mission. L’énergie et la volonté de Christian Clot et ses équipiers ont fait le reste. C’est ainsi qu’ils sont arrivés ensemble au bout de la mission avec un certain plaisir et l’envie collective de la poursuivre.

C’est donc pour chaque citoyen.ne qu’a été pensé DEEP TIME. De manière globale et appliquée, ces travaux sont directement en connexion avec plusieurs situations sociales et sanitaires actuelles, mais ils sont aussi des forces d'anticipation d'un proche avenir.

Quelques pistes rattachées à l'utilité de DEEP TIME

– Bases lunaires (possibles dès 2024), puis sur d’autres territoires extra-terrestres avec l’installation de groupes humains autonomes et potentiellement isolés.

– Anticipation des missions lors de voyages spatiaux de longue durée.

La conquête spatiale prend un nouveau tournant durant ce siècle, permis par les nouvelles technologies et les figures montantes. De la Lune à Mars, en visant d’autres objets stellaires, comme Cérès, l’humain affrontera des perceptions du temps inédites.

Domaine spatial

– Vie en environnement confiné au cœur des missions longues : sous-marins, missions immersives.

– Enseignement tiré de l’action en situation de perte de repères totale (désorientation poussée à l’extrême, enfermement).

Depuis le milieu des années 2000, l’équilibre géopolitique et géostratégique mondial connaît de nombreuses mutations. Le monde multipolaire non-uniforme laisse sous-entendre de nouvelles adaptations géostratégiques, voire militaires (RMA), consultables dans les Livres blancs.

Défense

– La recherche de meilleures conditions de travail pour les mineurs, tunneliers, et personnes œuvrant à leurs tâches durant de longues heures sous terre.

– Travailleurs détachés : plateformes off-shore et autres activités isolées.

– Réorganisation des équipes, leadership de projets complexes, gestion du temps, etc. Penser le temps dans des situations exceptionnelles ne peut exclure, in fine, les situations communes en entreprises. Au contraire, la richesse tirée de nos expéditions est exploitable et exportable, puisque l’on peut implémenter des valeurs au sein de tout organisme.  

Entreprises

– Confinement de population : enseignement sur l’action en situation de perte de repères face à des crises de toute nature.

– Nouveaux habitats (tous-terrains, sous-marins) en cas de forts dérèglements climatiques.

– Déplacement de populations dans un cadre de vie inconnu.

– Santé mentale.

Société civile

Un projet comme DEEP TIME est un défi en soi, possible et symptomatique. Il agit comme un démonstrateur fabuleux de l’excellence que l’humain sait mettre en œuvre pour se dépasser et repousser les connaissances, dans une période troublée.

Avec DEEP TIME, on met en exergue une base éducative notoire pour parler de projets d’avenir, de la parité, ainsi que des connaissances scientifiques et d’autres aspects.

Pour aller plus loin...

Comprendre le projet

Une première mondiale

t

Pourquoi une grotte ?

En milieu naturel, nous conservons la perception fine d’une vie réelle traduite via les émotions provoquées par l’environnement, notre sensorialité et notre aptitude à l’émerveillement !

Après des années d’études variées, nous avons constaté que, pour bien comprendre les aptitudes et fonctionnements humains, il est nécessaire de les étudier en milieu naturel et lors de situations réelles de vie plutôt qu’en simulation en espace restreint et fermé.

Ces mises en contexte, in concreto, permettent des observations plus précises, prenant en compte l’ensemble sensoriel et émotif qui influence nos décisions et actions à chaque instant de nos vies. Nous avons donc choisi une grotte de grande ampleur afin d’installer un camp de qualité pour les études tout en ayant un espace d’évolution, de découverte(s), d’exploration, suffisamment conséquent. Le cadre choisi n’est pas anodin puisqu’il apporte des sensations naturelles qui sont capitales au moment de l’étude des humains lorsqu’ils sont placés dans de nouvelles conditions de vie, foncièrement déroutantes pour l’esprit et le corps.

Nous optons ainsi pour un cadre propice à la reconnexion avec les conditions de vie proches de nos habitudes « exploratoires », tout en évitant le contact solaire, stricto sensu, ou un regard porté sur des montres.

Le camp de base, véritable démonstrateur des moyens d’installation d’un lieu de vie dans des endroits improbables, permet de mener nos protocoles en considérant de nombreux paramètres scientifiques clés. De même, nous bénéficions des outils les plus avancés pour mener à bien ce projet, ainsi que toute la rigueur nécessaire à la récolte de données qui feront avancer la recherche, notamment dans l’axe d’une meilleure appréhension d’un avenir potentiellement de plus en plus lié aux confinements de la société.

Comprendre le Temps...

… est vieux comme l’humanité. Mais c’est au XXe que l’on crée la chronobiologie : de 1938 à 2000, plusieurs missions vont être menées en grotte ou avec des simulateurs, seul ou à deux pour étudier le temps à l’échelon humain, en passant de Nathaniel Kleitman à Véronique Le Guen.

En 1962, le Français Michel Siffre a fait, en deux mois dans une grotte, la plus grande découverte quant à nos rythmes biologiques.

Cependant, à ce jour, jamais un groupe n’a mené une telle expérience avec des études sur le cerveau et la génétique. Il s’agit d’une première mondiale dans sa méthodologie et son principe.

Le Temps devient une aventure.

Les grands axes de la mission

Des questions universelles à résoudre

 

 

À la surface, une trentaine de scientifiques de 12 domaines vont tenter de répondre à trois questions essentielles pour notre avenir, à l’aide des technologies les plus modernes :

– Comment gérer la désorientation, lorsque nous sommes soumis à une situation totalement nouvelle… comme les confinements de 2020 ?

– Comment notre cerveau conçoit et gère le temps en dehors de tout indicateur ?

– Comment un groupe humain peut-il parvenir à se synchroniser, à fonctionner ensemble lorsqu’il se trouve dans des conditions de vie totalement nouvelles ?

Après des années d’études variées, nous avons constaté que, pour bien comprendre la complexité des aptitudes et des fonctionnements humains, il est nécessaire de les étudier en milieu naturel plutôt qu’en simulation, dans un espace restreint et fermé.

L’objectif, ici, est de prouver qu’en situation de pleine anomie et de doute, il est possible d’agir, de créer des projets et surtout d’innover pour aider les humains à mieux faire face à leur avenir, tout en étant placés dans un environnement difficile.

9

Un défi de taille pour le corps humain et l'esprit

Dans la grotte de Lombrives, en France, 7 femmes et 7 hommes s’enfoncent sous terre pour y vivre en isolement total, durant 40 jours, sans aucun moyen de connaître l’heure (ni soleil ni montre). Une mission au-delà du temps !

9

Une dynamique d'espoir

En ces périodes troublées, notamment du fait de la crise sanitaire du moment, avoir de l’espoir, construire des projets pour le futur et maintenir la motivation sont fastidieux. Une mission en expédition comme Deep Time devient, alors, porteuse de sens, d’engagements et offre une nouvelle capacité de projection globale.

Deep Time constitue une démonstration motrice pour le grand public qui a besoin de rêves. Nous démontrons qu’il est toujours possible de bâtir de grands projets juste à côté de chez nous, et ainsi croire en l’avenir.

Il existe un parallèle notoire entre les individus du monde entier qui ont dû se confiner dans leur “grotte”, physique et mentale, et les explorateurs qui se plongent dans cette réalité temporelle, au plus près de la nature et des roches.

9

Le retour des missions exploratoires sur le terrain

2021 est l’année du grand retour des missions avec Deep Time, un projet conçu et mené par :

– Les équipes de Human Adaptation Institute

– L’explorateur-chercheur Christian Clot 

9

Une mission d'utilité publique

Projets spatiaux, nouvelles conditions de vie dues aux climats ou à la biodiversité, nouvelles contraintes de travail… voici autant de sujets pour lesquels la mission Deep Time pourra apporter des éléments de réponses. C’est aussi un projet qui parle aux citoyens du monde qui sont nombreux à avoir ressenti une désorientation durant l’année 2020.

Les situations d’anomie temporelle risquent de devenir de plus en plus fréquentes, en raison des crises, de missions volontaires ou de réorganisation de nos habitats sur Terre, surtout dans des zones à forte pression climatique.

Il est donc important de mieux saisir comment le cerveau comprend et gère le temps, et comment des groupes, aussi hétérogènes soient-ils, parviennent à recréer une synchronisation en dehors des indicateurs habituels.

 

Notre cerveau à l’honneur

Comprendre la différence entre la perception du Temps et sa réalité

Lors de certains évènements, notre perception du temps est altérée : il semble passer très lentement ou très vite, sans rapport avec la réalité de chaque seconde qui s’égrène. Que se passe-t-il alors ? Comment retrouver le sens du temps ? Quelles sont les connexions entre le temps cognitif et biologique, entre le cerveau et les cellules génétiques ?

Quel est le rapport entre le temps perçu et le temps normatif, celui de nos montres ?

“ Comment notre cerveau conçoit-il le temps ? “

Perdre le temps, c’est la plus grande désorientation qui soit. Et c’est cet aspect que la mission Deep Time veut mieux comprendre. Car nous ignorons à ce jour comment notre système cognitif comprend et gère cette continuité indéfinie, ce milieu où se déroule la succession des évènements et des phénomènes, par-delà même cette variable que l’on pourrait appeler l’horloge biologique en chronobiologie.

Une réalité contemporaine est mise en lumière : notre capacité d’adaptation humaine passe, en partie, par notre aptitude à gérer la désorientation née des nouvelles conditions de vie et via la compréhension du temps.

La question fondamentale est : “comment parvenir à une adéquation entre le temps réel et le temps perçu” ? 

 

Jours passés dans la grotte

Équipières et équipiers sous terre

Scientifiques pour l'étude de DEEP TIME

Domaines scientifiques

Aspects pratiques et humains

Qui sommes-nous? 

Équipe de la mission

DEEP TIME

Christian CLOT 

  • Président fondateur du Human Adaptation Institute
  • Membre de la Société des Explorateurs français
  • Conférencier et auteur
  • Membre de la mission DEEP TIME 

Jérémy ROUMIAN

  • Directeur des opérations & partenariats au sein de Human Adaptation Institute
  • Membre de la mission DEEP TIME 

Mélusine MALLENDER 

  • Membre de la Société des Explorateurs français
  • Directrice en charge des projets “Image & Parité”
  • Membre de la mission DEEP TIME 

Dr. Stéphane BESNARD 

  • Maître de Conférences des Universités 
  •  Praticien hospitalier
    électroencéphalogramme potentiels évoqués
  • Membre de la mission DEEP TIME 

Pour découvrir nos équipiers du terrain et l'ensemble de nos équipes recherche, logistique et communication

Regards croisés sur le projet 

“Il existe un parallèle notoire entre les individus du monde entier qui ont dû se confiner dans leur “grotte”, physique et mentale, et les explorateurs qui se plongent dans cette réalité temporelle, au plus près de la nature et des roches. Par-delà les aspects très en phase avec notre conjoncture, le temps – question atemporelle – est à l’honneur au cœur de cette mission : il s’agit d’un élément extrêmement délicat à traiter tant nos rapports à lui sont soumis à l’intersubjectivité et au manque de connaissances que l’on en a, nonobstant les travaux bien entamés par des références comme Albert Einstein ou Stephen Hawking. Travailler sur le temps couplé des activités cérébrales, c’est aussi remettre en question notre nature de mortels dans un cadre qui transcende l’entendement humain. Pourra-t-on, un jour, définir ontologiquement parlant, l’équation de la substance temporelle? Est-ce linéaire, cyclique ou soumis à d’autres géométries non-élucidées? Inexorablement, il s’agit d’un objet multiforme sujet à l’exploration, à la discussion, à la négociation, à l’interprétation, tout comme cela représente un point de repère, parfois suspendu, mais continuellement en mouvement, pris dans un champs tout à fait paradoxal et constitué, concomitamment, d’items abstraits et concrets. “

Idriss NAOUI, en charge de la communication et de la Direction artistique

“Deep Time représente une aventure intérieure dans les deux sens du termes, physique et psychique, et c’est la possibilité d’aller à la rencontre de soi-même et des autres, de regarder son fonctionnement intérieur,
l’incroyable chance de ce déconnecter du monde, de
son effervescence et de sa technologie et de créer le lien avec l’ensemble de ses sens.”

Damien JEMELGO, Équipier de la mission.

“Deep Time est une expérience formidable, une façon de mieux connaître notre cerveau. J’aime cette façon d’être bousculée dans notre quotidien tranquille et sécurisé pour pousser nos propres limites et explorer nos capacités personnelles, nos fonctionnements cognitifs et nos interactions en groupe. C’est un travail passionnant que nous entreprenons avec des chercheurs spécialisés dans différentes disciplines, une exploration à l'intérieur de l’être humain.”

Marie-Caroline LAGACHE, Équipière de la mission.

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour que l’on puisse afficher votre réflexion quant à la mission DEEP TIME. Nous avons la conviction que votre regard singulier peut apporter de nouvelles perspectives au projet. 

Vous.

Méthodologie

Nos protocoles

Se confronter au terrain à plusieurs ou en solo, au sein de missions qui permettent le dépassement de soi.

Récolter, comprendre et analyser des données précieuses pour la science, avec le nec plus ultra des outils, en suivant de protocoles strictes et sous le regard avisé d'experts multidomaines.

Émettre des recommandations et des études prospectivistes, tout en recherchant l'innovation sous diverses formes.

L'importance de la mise en situations réelles

Des protocoles in situ, sur le terrain durant les 40 jours. Il est essentiel que les prises de mesures et les prélèvements soient en conditions réelles afin de comprendre au mieux les mécanismes humains d’adaptation. 

Une large et précieuse collaboration

Nos recherches sont intégratives, pluridisciplinaires, de la cognition à la génétique, de la psychologie à l’éthologie et assurent une vision large de l’adaptation humaine. Les émotions, les perceptions ainsi que les mécanismes d’acceptation et de décisions peuvent également être évalués de manière très fine grâce à l’observation immédiate plutôt qu’au travers de récits basés sur la mémoire.

U

La qualité de l'analyse et de l'interprétation selon des schémas scientifiques rigoureux

Des protocoles en laboratoire (IRM, …) en pré et post-opération, durant 2 ans. Suite aux missions exploratoires, Human Adaptation Institute recueille minutieusement les données prélevées sur le terrain pour les étudier. Ces pistes de lecture servent ensuite à faire évoluer la science, tout en conservant cet aspect de recommandation auprès des institutions, entre autres.

Des outils innovants

 Gélule ingérée pour suivre la température centrale et le microbiote, suivi des intervals cardiaques, EEG à haute densité… Nous développons des outils innovants pour obtenir nos données, prélevées quotidiennement durant la mission et nous parvenons à observer la modification physiologique du cerveau au moment des situations réelles de vie.

COMPRENDRE

comment le cerveau peut s’adapter dans une grotte, sans repère de temps, ni lumière du jour. Appréhender les biais cognitifs qui permettent une adaptation dans un contexte d’anomie brisant l’aspect cyclique du rythme circadien.

 

ANALYSER

les données recueillies sur le terrain, et les interpréter avec la collaboration de laboratoires et des chercheurs de renom pour proposer des pistes de lecture sur notre nature en tant qu’êtres humains. La science ne cesse d’avancer. 

RECOMMANDER

auprès de tous les acteurs de la société, des schémas adaptatifs, des bilans et des plans d’action stratégiques visant à anticiper des problématiques de plus en plus récurrentes comme les confinements. L’Institut de l’Adaptation humaine a aussi pour vocation de faire découvrir au grand public les thématiques “piliers” de ses domaines d’investigation ainsi que le milieu  de la recherche.

10 + 5 =

Adresse de la grotte pour la mission

Grotte de Lombrives

09400 Ussat

Email

info@theadaptationgroup.com

Suivez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux
DutchEnglishFrenchGermanItalianPortugueseSpanish
Twitter
Visit Us
Follow Me
YouTube
LinkedIn
Share
Instagram
error: Content is protected !!