Follow the DEEP TIME mission. 

Find here all the information, the follow-up of the field mission, its preparation, its realization, the scientific studies carried out ...

END OF THE MISSION

Moment of consecration, the end of the DEEP TIME mission could be celebrated in success.  

Photo

End of the DEEP TIME mission, April 24, 2021

DURING THE MISSION

Some ascents from the cave, with photographs, and podcasts taken from the testimonies of Christian Clot. 

Gallery

In the heart of the Lombrives cave

Podcasts

THE START OF THE MISSION

In immersive discovery, the “Deeptimers”, as they are nicknamed, discover their new habitat which will serve as a roof for 40 days.

Gallery

Installation in the cave

PREPARATIONS

All the information relating to the preparation of the mission, before the cave entry which took place on March 14, 2021, is present in this section.  

Gallery

Preparations in pictures

Testimonials from team members, before the DEEP TIME mission

For me, Deep Time is a unique experience in human, scientific and logistical terms. It is an opportunity to participate in scientific studies, to improve one's knowledge of the human being and to discover, for my part, the underground world. I am honored and proud to participate in this mission, where each person (employees, volunteers, team members, scientists, partners, etc.) are putting their stone to the building, in an extraordinary collaboration.

Nicole HUEBER, 27 years old, Senior Technician in Geosciences.

Deep time is a unique experience to learn more about myself, in a system without time marks and in a group. This will be a real challenge, both in sociological and scientific terms, which I will experience and have to take up, while adding a pinch of exploration and adventure.

Arnaud BUREL, 29 years old, Biologist.

Deep Time represents the chance to experience a
unique collective experience, out of the ordinary, out of time, bringing together adventure and science. Confronting oneself while having to integrate into a group and thus help to better understand our adaptability when all the landmarks that make our daily balance are upset ...

Alexis MONSEIGNY, 42, formerly a diving instructor, lifeguard swimmer and security guard.

Deep Time is a great experience, a way to get to know our brain better. I like this way of being jostled in our quiet and secure daily life to push our own limits and explore our personal capacities, our cognitive functioning and our group interactions.

It is a fascinating work that we undertake with researchers specialized in different disciplines, an exploration inside the human being.

Marie-Caroline LAGACHE, 50 years old, Jeweler.

Deep Time represents an incredible scientific, human and interior adventure. It's a chance to live these 40 days without any notion of time (probably the only opportunity in a lifetime to do so), or contact with the outside world, with 14 people from rich and varied life paths. These are scientists, partners and Christian Clot who trust us to advance research (especially on the brain, the second least known place in the universe!) And increase knowledge for Humanity.

Finally, it will be a very intense sensory, emotional, personal, relational, scientific experience, rich in questions.

Tiphaine VUARIER, 32 years old, Psychomotor therapist.

Deep Time is the realization of these few years of preparation when it was unexpected, it's an incredible opportunity to partly realize my dream mixing everything I would have liked: adventure above all, to adrenaline, surpassing oneself, the scientific side, because I am very curious and a field that interests, to be able to help humanity to move forward, and to make beautiful new encounters. It's such an incredible and unprecedented challenge that I'm proud to participate in and can't wait. It is a good proof that despite the current situation we are capable and we do it, we must not stop and give up. Hope our experience and all of our data will be very useful.

Émilie KIM-FOO, 29 years old, Nurse.

A dear writer wrote that we only really understand the importance of something when we are missing it. DeepTime is the application of this idea to the sun. Even before we get off, I can't wait for the day we meet again. 

This expedition is also a human adventure which, thanks to its objective of knowledge, goes beyond simple personal experience. She thus achieves a beautiful movement, in which all aspects of our lives are found: the other, self, our bodies, reflection, adventure, discipline, obstacle and its crossing.
Kora SACCHARIN, 30 years old, Business intelligence analyst.

It's a great idea, an exercise in the imagination. I don't expect anything in particular. But I feel that it will be a unique experience. I disconnect from the media, from other team members' information, I prepare at least, no influence.
I imagine darkness, emptiness and our instinct for survival, protecting ourselves from the cold, fetching water, keeping provisions, having light. The basics to stay alive and come out. An unknown environment, gestures to learn. The sympathy that will develop once I myself am ready. A few days without joking too much, then the discovery of other humans, other animals, hidden plants, new sensations, parts of the cave. Laughter, songs, sharing, an atmosphere that will relax. Then a void, is the brain ready for it? I've been around, I have to get out now. Why am I staying? What an idea ! Outside, I have family, friends, improbable encounters, the ocean that hits the coast every day in a different way, the dreams that are lived day by day, the projects that move forward. But here only black. I am here to share a unique experience, we have a lot to learn about ourselves, she is a compassionate beauty, to put her life aside to then share what we get from it!

Johan FRANÇOIS, 37, Math teacher and sail instructor.

Deep Time represents an interior adventure in both senses of the terms, physical and psychic, because it is the possibility of going to meet oneself and others, to look at one's internal functioning, the incredible chance to disconnect of the world, its effervescence and its technology and to create a link with all of its senses.

Damien JEMELGO, 47 years old, rope access technician.

Cradled by exploration stories since I was little, I have always dreamed of participating in a great scientific adventure. My job as a popularizer has allowed me to spend hours telling, from my office, the crazy discoveries of explorers. However, I have never had the opportunity to participate in a scientific expedition myself.

Deep Time is therefore for me a great opportunity to discover behind the scenes, and to go out into the field. It is also the opportunity to live a collective human experience as extraordinary as it is terrifying, in a grandiose environment, all in France!

Martin SAUMET, 29 years old, Scientific mediator.

For me, Deep Time is a unique opportunity to surpass myself and as a team, in an incredibly beautiful yet intimidating environment. It is a unique opportunity to better understand the human being and to propose concrete solutions for our future. Passionate about video, I can't wait to bring back beautiful images to document the underground adventure.

Marina LANÇON, 33 years old, Trek guide.

Deep Time is an extraordinary opportunity to combine my research work with my taste for adventure. From a scientific point of view, it is a unique and unprecedented opportunity to study the way in which the human being adapts to the total loss of temporal landmarks, and to see how a group can organize itself to live. under such conditions.

The richness of the fields of research involved and the data that will be acquired during this expedition, make it an ambitious multidisciplinary project which will be able to provide us with unprecedented elements of response. From a human point of view, it is a human adventure into the unknown that I am proud to be able to experience alongside other team members. It is also, finally, the opportunity to be able to get out of this torpor which has set in this last year with the health crisis.

Margaux ROMAND-MONNIER, 31 years old, PhD. Neuroscientist, Scientific manager.

Participating in Deep Time allows me to participate in a unique expedition that is out of the ordinary on human chronobiology, a unique opportunity to take an active part in scientific research on the adaptation and the future of our societies. Getting out of my comfort zone, pushing my limits, I have already had the opportunity to do it on certain occasions, but never in such conditions and with so many strangers.

It's not every day that you can donate your body to science while you are alive!

François MATTENS, 35, Director of Public Affairs and Innovation - Head of the GENERATE accelerator.

DutchEnglishFrenchGermanItalianPortugueseSpanish
Twitter
Visit Us
Follow Me
the UAF YouTube-channel
LinkedIn
Share
Instagram
error: Content is protected !!

Suivez la mission DEEP TIME. 

Retrouvez ici les informations, le suivi en photographies et retours audio de la mission de terrain, sa préparation, sa réalisation, les études scientifiques menées…

Au-delà du Temps

LES PHOTOS DE LA MISSION

Découvrez, dans cette section, les différentes photographies qui retracent sommairement les étapes des la mission DEEP TIME

Galerie

Fin de la mission DEEP TIME

Au coeur de la grotte de Lombrives

L’installation dans la grotte

Les préparatifs en images

PODCASTS

Quelques remontées de la grotte, au travers de podcasts tirés des témoignages de Christian Clot.

Podcasts

LES TÉMOIGNAGES DES DEEPTIMERS

En découverte immersive, les « Deeptimers », comme on les surnomme, ont découvert leur nouvel habitat qui leur a servi de toit pendant 40 jours. Ils ont pu confronter leurs impressions d’avant la mission avec la réalité du terrain. Ils vous font partager leurs avis, leurs sensations et leurs réflexions autour du temps et de ce contexte d’anomie singulier.

Témoignages des équipiers, avant la mission DEEP TIME

Pour moi, Deep Time c’est une expérience unique tant sur le plan humain, scientifique et logistique. C’est une occasion de participer à des études scientifiques, de perfectionner sa connaissance sur l’être humain et de découvrir, pour ma part, le monde souterrain. Je suis honorée et fier de participer à cette mission, où chaque personnes, (salariés, bénévoles, équipiers, scientifiques, partenaires,…) mettent leur pierre à l’édifice, dans une collaboration extraordinaire.

Nicole HUEBER, 27 ans, Technicienne supérieure en Géosciences.

Deep time est une expérience unique pour en apprendre plus sur moi-même, dans un système sans repères temporels et en groupe. Cela va être un vrai challenge, tant en terme sociologique, que scientifique, que je vais vivre et devoir relever, tout en y ajoutant une pincée d’exploration et d’aventure.

Arnaud BUREL, 29 ans, Biologiste.

Deep Time représente la chance de pouvoir vivre une
expérience collective unique, hors normes, hors du temps, regroupant aventure et science.  Se confronter à soi-même tout en devant s’intégrer à un groupe et ainsi aider à mieux comprendre nos capacités d’adaptation lorsque tous les repères qui font notre équilibre au quotidien sont chamboulés…

Alexis MONSEIGNY, 42 ans, anciennement Moniteur de plongée, nageur sauveteur et agent de sécurité.

Deep Time est une expérience formidable, une façon de mieux connaître notre cerveau. J’aime cette façon d’être bousculée dans notre quotidien tranquille et sécurisé pour pousser nos propres limites et explorer nos capacités personnelles, nos fonctionnements cognitifs et nos interactions en groupe.

C’est un travail passionnant que nous entreprenons avec des chercheurs spécialisés dans différentes disciplines, une exploration à l’intérieur de l’être humain.

Marie-Caroline LAGACHE, 50 ans, Bijoutière.

Deep Time représente une incroyable aventure scientifique, humaine et intérieure. C’est une chance de vivre ces 40 jours sans aucune notion de temps (probablement la seule opportunité dans une vie de le faire), ni contact avec l’extérieur, avec 14 personnes aux parcours de vie riches et variés. Ce sont des scientifiques, des partenaires et Christian Clot qui nous font confiance pour faire avancer la recherche (notamment sur le cerveau, 2e endroit de l’univers le moins connu!) et accroitre la connaissance pour l’Humanité.

Enfin, cela va être une expérience sensorielle, émotionnelle, personnelle, relationnelle, scientifique très intense et riche de questionnements.

Tiphaine VUARIER, 32 ans, Psychomotricienne.

Deep Time, c’est la concrétisation de ces quelques années de préparation alors que c’était inespéré, c’est une incroyable occasion de réaliser en partie mon rêve mixant tout ce dont j’aurais souhaité : de l’aventure avant tout, de l’adrénaline, du dépassement de soi, le côté scientifique, car je suis très curieuse et un domaine qui intéresse, pouvoir aider l’humanité à avancer, et faire de belles nouvelles rencontres. C’est un défi tellement incroyable et inédit au quelle je suis fière de participer et j’ai hâte. C’est une belle preuve que malgré la situation actuelle on est capable et on le fait, il ne faut pas s’arrêter et baisser les bras. J’espère que notre expérience et toutes nos données seront très utiles.

Émilie KIM-FOO, 29 ans, Infirmière.

Un écrivain qui m’est cher a écrit qu’on ne saisissait réellement l’importance de quelque chose que lorsqu’elle nous manquait. DeepTime, c’est l’application de cette idée au soleil. Avant même d’être descendue, j’ai hâte du jour où nous nous retrouverons. 

Cette expédition est aussi une aventure humaine qui, grâce à son objectif de connaissance, dépasse la simple expérience personnelle. Elle réalise ainsi un beau mouvement, dans lequel se retrouvent tous les aspects de nos vies : l’autre, soi, nos corps, la réflexion, l’aventure, la discipline, l’obstacle et son franchissement
Kora SACCHARIN, 30 ans, Analyste en intelligence économique.

C’est une belle idée, un exercice d’imagination. Je ne m’atttends à rien de particulier. Mais je sens que ce sera une expérience unique. Je me déconnecte des médias, des informations des autres équipiers, je prépare au minimum, aucune influence.
J’imagine du noir, du vide et notre instinct de survie, se protéger du froid, aller chercher de l’eau, garder les provisions, avoir de la lumière. Les bases pour rester en vie et ressortir. Un milieu inconnu, des gestes à apprendre. La sympathie qui va se développer, une fois moi-même prêt. Quelques jours sans trop blaguer, puis la découverte des autres humains, des autres animaux, plantes cachées, sensations nouvelles, pièces de la grotte. Des rires, des chants, des partages, une ambiance qui se détendra. Puis un vide, le cerveau est-il prêt à cela? J’ai fait le tour, je dois sortir maintenant. Pourquoi je reste? Quelle idée ! À l’extèrieur, j’ai la famille, les amis, les rencontres improbables, l’océan qui vient frapper la côte tous les jours de façon différente, les rêves qui se vivent au jour le jour, les projets qui avancent. Mais ici que du noir. Je suis là pour partager une expérience unique, nous avons beaucoup à apprendre sur nous même, c’est une beauté compatissante, laisser sa vie de côté pour ensuite partager ce que l’on en retire !

Johan FRANÇOIS, 37 ans, Professeur de mathématiques et moniteur de voiles.

Deep Time représente une aventure intérieure dans les deux sens du termes, physique et psychique, car c’est la possibilité d’aller à la rencontre de soi-même et des autres, de regarder son fonctionnement intérieur, l’incroyable chance de ce déconnecter du monde, de son effervescence et de sa technologie et de créer le lien avec l’ensemble de ses sens.

Damien JEMELGO, 47 ans, Cordiste.

Bercé par les récits d’exploration depuis tout petit, j’ai toujours rêvé de participer à une grande aventure scientifique. Mon métier de vulgarisateur, m’a permis de passer des heures à raconter, depuis mon bureau, les folles découvertes des explorateurs.rices. Pourtant, jamais je n’ai eu l’opportunité de participer moi-même à une expédition scientifique.

Deep Time est donc pour moi, une belle occasion de découvrir l’envers du décor, et d’aller sur le terrain. C’est aussi l’opportunité de vivre une expérience humaine collective aussi extraordinaire que terrifiante, dans un milieu grandiose, le tout, en France !

Martin SAUMET, 29 ans, Médiateur scientifique.

Pour moi, Deep Time est une occasion unique de me dépasser moi-même et en équipe, dans un environnement incroyablement beau bien qu’intimidant. C’est une opportunité unique de mieux comprendre l’être humain et de proposer des solutions concrètes pour notre avenir. Passionnée par la vidéo, j’ai hâte de ramener de belles images afin de documenter l’aventure sous-terraine.

Marina LANÇON, 33 ans, Guide trek.

Deep Time est une extraordinaire opportunité de mêler mes travaux de recherche à mon goût pour l’aventure. D’un point de vue scientifique, c’est une occasion unique et sans précédent d’étudier la manière dont l’être humain s’adapte à la perte totale de repères temporels, et de voir comment un groupe peut s’organiser pour vivre dans de telles conditions.

La richesse des domaines de recherche impliqués et des données qui vont être acquises lors de cette expédition, en font un projet pluridisciplinaire ambitieux qui pourra nous apporter des éléments de réponse sans précédent. D’un point de vue humain, c’est une aventure humaine dans l’inconnu que je suis fière de pouvoir vivre aux côtés des autres équipiers. C’est aussi, enfin, l’occasion de pouvoir sortir de cette torpeur qui s’est installée cette dernière année avec la crise sanitaire.

Margaux ROMAND-MONNIER, 31 ans, PhD. Neuroscientifique, Responsable scientifique.

Participer à Deep Time me permet de participer à une expédition unique qui est hors du commun sur la chronobiologie humaine, une opportunité unique de prendre part activement à la recherche scientifique sur l’adaptation et l’avenir de nos sociétés. Sortir de ma zone de confort, repousser mes limites, j’ai déjà eu l’occasion de le faire dans certaines occasions, mais jamais dans de telles conditions et avec autant d’inconnus.

Ce n’est pas tous les jours que l’on peut donner son corps à la science, de son vivant !

François MATTENS, 35 ans, Directeur des affaires publiques et de l'innovation - Responsable de l'accélérateur GENERATE.

DutchEnglishFrenchGermanItalianPortugueseSpanish
Twitter
Visit Us
Follow Me
YouTube
LinkedIn
Share
Instagram
error: Content is protected !!